Everything happens for a reason, I always say. It sucks to stay in the hospital during the holiday season when most of my good friends are out of town. After being here for 6 days in addition to the previous sick days I took intermittently, I suddenly realized this isn’t an illness to torture me, this is a revelation to show me what I needed to see and to make the changes I should have made a while ago.

image

Humanity, love, and value of life all became crystal clear in front of my eyes. I remember the same thing happened when I was extremely sick in the U.S. The illness brought much depression and suffering, but it was also the catalyst that transformed me into a vegan and gave me another big reason to walk away from a relationship.

I can’t say my life is special, but it’s definitely far from being ordinary. I’m not religious, but I’m spiritual enough to receive messages intended for me. I’m not invincible, but I won’t be defeated by a small setback over the holidays. As I said two days ago, 2013 will be a year with great adventures. I tossed out the mediocre to make room for the new changes in my life in the new year.

Happy new year. I wish you all the best and hope you’ll also find positive messages whenever you see the ugly side of life.

About Angie P. 小帕

filmmaker vegan writer PCRM celebrity coach Darizi | OpenRice | Third Culture columnist 電影工作人 作家 美國責任醫師協會名人教練 大日子 | OpenRice | Third Culture 健康專欄作家 www.veganangiep.com

Your thoughts?

